Railway Minister’s update on Aurangabad-Bihta rail line

Railway Minister Piyush Goyal has said Bihta-Aurangabad new line project was sanctioned in 2007-08 at an abstract cost of Rs 326,20 crore.

Part detailed estimate of Rs 64.59 crore for land acquisition on Bihta-Paliganj (28 Km) was sanctioned on 30.10.2007, he told Lok Sabha while replying to a question and added: “Subsequently, while examining the revised Detailed Estimate of the project amounting to Rs 2,995 crore, it was decided to keep the execution of Bihta-Aurangabad new line project on hold in view of available routes in adjoining areas and low capacity
utilization of existing parallel route i.e. Ara-Sasaram new line and Patna-Gaya doubling.

He said Rs 25 crore has been allotted for the said project in
the interim budget 2019-20. As the execution of work depends upon viability of the project, therefore, an updating survey has been taken up to see its viability in view of upcoming industrial, educational institutions and new airport in the vicinity of this project.

The Minister said the timely completion of any Railway project depends on various factors like quick land acquisition by State Government, forest clearance by officials of forest department, shifting of infringing utilities (both underground & over ground), statutory clearances from various authorities, geological & topographical conditions of area, law & order situation in the area of project site, number of working months in a year for particular project site due to climatic considerations, encountering unforeseen conditions like earthquake, flooding, excessive rains, strikes of labour, orders of Hon’ble Courts, situation and conditions of working agencies/contractors etc. and all these factors affects the completion cost of the project, which is finally worked out at the completion stage.

Image Credit : smedia2.intoday.in

Download Now – Special Research Report

A 110 page special research report that highlights around 580 key investments happened in the year 2018-19.

Daily Newsletter

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner